What year was the roswell u. f. o. crash?

The Roswell Incident unfolded in early July 1947. A New Mexico rancher brought officials debris found on his land. Initially authorities described it as a flying disk; but determined on July 9 that it was fragments of a weather balloon. The event continues to spawn conspiracy theories about UFOs.