What is the akatsuki from naruto?

The Akatsuki was a group of shinobi that existed outside the usual system of hidden villages. Over the course of several decades, Akatsuki took different forms and each iteration was viewed as either subversives or criminals. Their goal was to make the world a better place through their own means.