Where does the phrase break a leg come from?

"Break a leg" is an idiom used in theatre to wish a performer "good luck". The expression probably reflects a superstition (perhaps a theatrical superstition) in which directly wishing a person "good luck" would be considered bad luck, therefore an alternative way of wishing luck was developed.