What was the cause of the potato famine in ireland?

The crop failures were caused by late blight, a disease that destroys both the leaves and the edible roots, or tubers, of the potato plant. Late blight is caused by the water mold Phytophthora infestans. The Irish famine was the worst to occur in Europe in the 19th century.