Why is snooze nine minutes long?

Before digital clocks, engineers were restricted to nine minute snooze periods by the gears in a standard clock. Afterwards, and because the consensus was that 10 minutes was too long and could allow people to fall back into a "deep" sleep, clock makers decided on the nine-minute standard.