What is a low broil?

Lo Broil: Functions at 450 degrees Fahrenheit. It gives a slower broiling to ensure doneness without drying out the food. Recommended for thicker cuts of meat and or foods you prefer cooked all the way through. Broil: Some ovens have Broil only, which functions at 550 degrees Fahrenheit.