What is a pulsoximeter?

A pulse oximeter is d device which measures the heart rate (or pulse), and the percentage of oxygen saturation in the blood, normally by measurement of the ratio of transmission of two different frequencies or colors of light. One frequency of light is often in the infrared spectrum.