What's the difference between sleet and freezing rain?

Both freezing rain and sleet occur by the same general process: liquid raindrops in a layer of warm air well above the surface fall into a layer of freezing air hugging the ground. ... Sleet is simply frozen raindrops and occurs when the layer of freezing air along the surface is thicker.

---

Freezing rain is regular rain that falls to the ground but freezes on contact with subfreezing objects like power lines, tree limbs, roadways. Sleet is rain that freezes before reaching the surface and becomes an ice pellet. Sleet makes an audible ping sound when it hits the ground.