What's the difference between sleet and freezing rain?

Both freezing rain and sleet occur by the same general process: liquid raindrops in a layer of warm air well above the surface fall into a layer of freezing air hugging the ground. ... Sleet is simply frozen raindrops and occurs when the layer of freezing air along the surface is thicker.