What happened on juneteenth?

Juneteenth, also called Emancipation Day, or Juneteenth Independence Day is a holiday commemorating the end of slavery in the United States and observed annually on June 19.

---

The observance of Juneteenth commemorates June 19, 1865, when Union soldiers brought the news of freedom to enslaved Black people in Galveston, Texas.