What is the purpose of a boomerang?

A boomerang is a throwing stick used by Australian Aboriginal people as weapons for hunting birds and game, such as emu, kangaroo and other marsupials. The hunter throws the boomerang so as to hit the target. In skilled hands, the boomerang is effective for hunting prey up to 100 metres away.