What is the term southpaw come from?

John Thorn, Major League Baseball’s official historian believes the term for lefties likely originated with boxing. In its coverage of an 1860 bare-knuckle prizefight, the New York Herald reported that left-hander David Woods planted his ‘south paw’ under his opponent’s chin