How many states do you get out of a cow?

About 125 steaks. Of course, total cut weight depends upon the cow as their sizes do vary. Generally 450 to 500 lbs. of beef. That is about 120 lbs. of ground beef, 125 steaks, 4 packs of ribs, 45 roasts, liver, sweetbreads, and bones for making broth.