What is a foreign object?

In medical terms, a foreign object is something that is in the body but doesn't belong there. Foreign objects may be sometimes swallowed or inserted into the body accidentally or intentionally. They can become lodged or stuck in various parts of the body, such as the ears, nose, eyes, and airways.