Is baking soda and acid?

No, Baking soda is an alkaline (or base) substance. When it mixes with an acid, it alters the pH level, and that is why it is called an anti-acid.

---

According to Orenda, no, baking soda is an alkaline, or basic, substance. Baking soda's chemical name is sodium bicarbonate, and has a pH of about 8.3, and is used in swimming pools to raise alkalinity, neutralize acid, and increase pH.