What does u. t. c. time mean?

UTC time stands for Universal Time Coordinated. Prior to 1972 it was called Greenwich Mean Time. In the U.S. time is set by subtracting hours according to how many time zones you are away from Greenwich England, allotting an extra hour for daylight savings.