Who wrote the elves and the shoemaker?

The elves and the shoemaker are a series of folk tales which date back at least to the 18th century, and probably earlier. No one knows who invented them; they were passed on in oral tradition for many years. The first to put them down in writing were probably Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm, in 1812.