How do you winterize a rosebush?

Don't prune the top of the rose bush. Remove the leaves but not the hips. Tie up the bush with twine. Mound soil 10 to 12 inches around the base of the plant to insulate the crown. Surround the plant with a wire hoop to form a collar.