What's the difference between angry and mad?

Angry can mean displaying or feeling anger, Inflamed and painful, dark and stormy or menacing. Mad can have many meanings, mainly insane, but can include angry, wildly confused or excited, extremely foolish or unwise, extremely enthusiastic about, and other similar intense feelings.