Why do redheads have so many freckles?

Redheads have freckles because both red hair and freckles are caused by the same gene. Because of the natural tanning reaction to the sun's ultraviolet light and high amounts of pheomelanin in the skin, freckles are a common but not universal feature of red-haired people.