Why did they call it spanish flu?

While many regions were once blamed as the source of the new strain of influenza that caused so many deaths worldwide in 1918 to 1919, many French and Americans fighting in World War I blamed Spain. Now it is believed to have originated in the U.S. and was transmitted by American soldiers.