What's the difference between unrefined coconut oil and refined coconut oil?

The main difference between virgin and regular coconut oil is the amount of refining the oil undergoes. Unrefined coconut oil may also be called virgin coconut oil. Virgin coconut oil maintains a sweet smell and taste of coconut, whereas refined coconut oil will lose much of the flavor and scent.