How do you know if a grasshopper is a boy or a girl?

Male grasshoppers are smaller than females. That's the easiest way to tell the difference. If you have a grasshopper to examine, check the end of the abdomen. Grown males have a hard and smooth plate on the abdomen's end, which ranges in size from small to quite prominent.