Why do cats like to sleep in boxes?

Cats get comfort and security from enclosed spaces, which is why they love spending time in cardboard boxes. Cats use boxes as hiding places where predators can't sneak up on them from the side or behind. This is ideal for cats as their reaction to stressful situations is often to run and hide.