What's the difference between a affecting and effecting?

To "affect" something is to cause something to happen, as in "Poor spelling in your essay will affect your grade." An "effect" is a result, as in "His poor spelling had the effect of bringing his grade down by 10 points." The "affect" of an action will be to "effect" the outcome.