What's the difference between all purpose flour and bread flour?

All purpose flour is just that--flour made from wheat that is used for many different things. Bread flour is sometimes called "high gluten" flour--it contains more wheat gluten and is milled more finely than all-purpose flour.

---

Bread flour, which comes in white and whole wheat varieties, has a higher protein content than all-purpose, usually 11-13%. It's called “bread flour” because most bread requires higher amounts of protein to produce lots of gluten.