Are filipinos pacific islanders?

The Philippines is part of Southeast Asia geographically. Officially, Filipinos are categorized as Asians. But describing Filipinos as Pacific Islanders isn't necessarily wrong either. In fact, for a long time, Filipinos were known as Pacific Islanders.