How smart is a penguin?

Penguins, while popularly believed to be Socially Awkward, are in fact extremely intelligent creatures. They are highly capable creatures that can be trained/conditioned, are self-aware, use tools and communicate with each other, and even form intricate communities and hierarchies in groups.