What is a swiss melted cheese dish for dipping bread in?

Fondue. Originating in the Swiss canton of Neuchâtel, fondue was devised as a winter dish to use up bread and cheese. Fondue means "melted," and it is traditionally served in a heavy pot called a caquelon that is heated over a small burner, or rechaud.