What is the sam mean?

The name Sam is of Hebrew origin and is often used as a nickname for Samuel. Its meanings include "told by God" and "God hears." In the Old Testament, Samuel is featured as a prophet and judge of the Israelites. Most people bearing the name Sam use it as a nickname, but it is sometimes a given name.