Where was the mosasaurus found?

The mosasaurs were discovered in 1764, along the Meuse river, which inspired the name “mosasaur”. The fossil skull was discovered in Holland in a limestone quarry near the city, Maastricht.

---

In the Pierre Shale in Badlands National Park, South Dakota.