What is in ginger?

The unique fragrance and flavor of ginger come from its natural oils, the most important of which is gingerol. Gingerol is the main bioactive compound in ginger. It's responsible for much of ginger's medicinal properties. Gingerol has powerful anti-inflammatory and antioxidant effects.