Why is death valley so hot?

The depth and shape of Death Valley influence its summer temperatures. The valley is a long, narrow basin 282 feet (86 m) below sea level, yet is walled by high, steep mountain ranges. ... These moving masses of super heated air blow through the valley creating extreme high temperatures.

---

Its elevation plays a big role. Parts of it are below sea level. Also, the Sierra Nevada mountains block moisture from the Pacific from reaching the basin. Plus, the valley is narrow and there is little air movement, and there is little vegetation. That allows the heat to really build up