Why is death valley so hot?

The depth and shape of Death Valley influence its summer temperatures. The valley is a long, narrow basin 282 feet (86 m) below sea level, yet is walled by high, steep mountain ranges. ... These moving masses of super heated air blow through the valley creating extreme high temperatures.