When was cornhole invented?

The game described in Heyliger de Windt's 1883 patent for "Parlor Quoits" displays most of the features of the modern game of cornhole, but with a square hole instead of a round one. In September 1974, Popular Mechanics magazine published an article about a similar game called Bean-bag Bullseye.