Who invented the teeter totter?

The named inventor is Mrs. S.E. Saul. Whereas typical modern see saws are supported from a hinge below the main plank, Mrs. Sauls' device is supported from above by a rope, similar to modern teeter totters. Perhaps Mrs. Saul is the missing link, and the see saw name is a play on the inventor's name.