What's the softball test in baking?

Sugar syrup needs to be cooked to specific stages for various types of candy. The Soft Ball test is the stage at which a bit of boiled sugar syrup dripped into cold water forms a soft malleable ball. Hard candies like peanut brittle are cooked to a higher stage than candies like caramels or taffy.