What is gird your loins mean?

The word "to gird" means to prepare oneself for something difficult or challenging. Loins are the part of the body on both sides of the spine between the lowest (false) ribs and the hipbones. So "gird your loins" was an old-fashioned way of saying armor your sensitive bits & prepare for battle.