How many letters in the japanese alphabet?

There are 46 basic characters in the Japanese alphabet and additional characters and sounds that can be made from the basic 46. Each of the alphabet symbols forms one syllable made of the 21 romaji, which is phonetic and always read the same way.

---

There is no Japanese alphabet. The language uses two syllabaries, called hiragana and katakana, each with 48 syllables, and an logographic system called kanji. Writing out foreign words is done using the Roman alphabet, which they call romaji.