Do orchids lose their flowers?

Naturally, your orchid's flowers will drop as part of the plant's life cycle, and many times, you won't need to take any action. Sometimes, however, the orchid will benefit from being pruned, especially if the stem is turning brown. A browning stem can signify a dying part of the plant.