What is sodium polly phosphate?

Sodium phosphate is naturally occurring in many foods. It's also added to foods to maintain freshness, alter texture, and achieve a variety of other effects. Sodium phosphate is considered safe by the FDA but should be avoided by certain people, including those with kidney disease.