Can elements be broken down into simpler substances?

Yes -- smaller substances, not necessarily "simpler." Elements are comprised of a nucleus (protons & neutrons) and surrounding electrons, the atomic number depending on the element's complexity. When nuclei are struck by energetic particles they split into many other types of smaller particles.