Is a rabbit a rat?

A rabbit is not a rat. Rabbits are not currently classified scientifically as rodents. Rats are classified as rodents. At one time, rabbits were classified as rodents, but many years ago that classification was changed from the order Rodentia to the order Lagomorpha (ancient Greek meaning Hare Form)