Do grizzly bears swin?

Despite their large hefty bodies and thick fur, brown bears are great swimmers. Wayne Kasworm, a grizzly bear biologist with the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, explained that bears' high fat content and oily coat helps them easily stay afloat.