Is lightning hotter than sun?

Lighting is 5 times hotter than the surface of the sun, but the core of the sun is millions of degrees hotter than lighting.

---

Lightning can heat the air it passes through to 50,000 degrees Fahrenheit, which is 5 times hotter than the surface of the sun. When lightning strikes a tree, the heat vaporizes any water in its path sometimes causing the tree to explode or a strip of bark to be blown off.