Why do crabs eat their babies?

While mothers eating their young is common, the opposite occurs, too: offspring devouring their mothers. Matriphagy, or mother-eating, is found in some insects, spiders, scorpions, and nematode worms. Crab spider mothers provide their young with unfertilized eggs to eat, but it's not enough.