Do rivers have tides?

Some do. In some rivers, the tides at their estuaries are reflected in the water level for several miles upriver. For example, the Susquehanna River at Port Deposit, Maryland, upriver from the Chesapeake Bay, has tidal variations of about 1.5 feet.