Is the flat sheet necessary?

While not necessary, the flat sheet used in making a bed is more easily washable than the heavier blankets and comforters placed on top of it.

---

The purpose of a flat top sheet is to create a barrier between you and your comforter. Ideally, this protects your comforter or duvet cover from all those skin cells and bacteria so you don't have to wash that bulky comforter as often as your sheets