How long does it take to cook a six ounce steak?

Place the steak in the sauté pan. Cook the steak for two to three minutes on each side for a rare steak, four to five minutes for medium and six to seven minutes for medium-well. For a more well-done steak, cook the meat for seven to nine minutes on both sides.