Does cast iron rust?

Yes, cast iron rusts quite easily. It is important to not let cast iron cookware sit in water for long and it must be seasoned to help prevent rust from forming

---

Yes it does, the speed that it rusts at is relative to the environment that it is and heat - humidity. As in for example a skillet pan, Good quality thick cast iron won't deep rust quickly, although rust is permeable, as the rust itself tends to protect the surface below it.