What is the first sport in the olympics?

The running race known as stadion. It was the only event at the very first Olympics in 776 BCE and remained the sole event at the Games until 724 BCE. The length of the race was 600 Greek feet. Olympics in Japan will start off with Artistic Gymnastics. (Men's floor)