Can you substitute apple cider vinegar for rice vinegar?

If you don't have it in the cupboard, a substitute for one tablespoon of rice vinegar is one tablespoon of white wine vinegar, plus a quarter teaspoon of sugar, or one tablespoon of apple cider vinegar, plus a quarter teaspoon of sugar